Endowed Faculty Positions

The William Clark Brown, Sr., Professorship in Chemistry was established by the late Mr. W. C. Brown and the late Miss Jean Brown of Hot Springs in memory of their father, Mr. William Clark Brown, Sr. The income from this endowment will be used to support a distinguished professor of chemistry.

The Rountree Caldwell Bryan Professorship in Education was established in October 1986 with a portion of the bequest from the estates of Rountree C. and Willie Dillard Bryan of Osceola. Income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of education.

The Clark N. and Mary Perkins Barton Professorship in Management was established in December 1980 by Mrs. Clark N. Barton of El Dorado. The income from the endowment will be used to support a designated professor of business administration.

The J. William and Catherine Mills Bellamy Professorship in Business was established in July 1983 by Mr. and Mrs. J. William Bellamy of Pine Bluff. The income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of business administration.

The Pauline M. and Brooks Bradley Professorship in the Social Sciences was established in 1992 by a bequest from the estate of Pauline M. and Brooks Bradley of Little Rock. The income from the endowment will be used to support a designated professor in the social sciences.

The Jean Brown Professorship in Music was established with a portion of her bequest in 1982. Income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of music.

The Josephine Emily Brown Professorship in Music was established by the late Jean Brown of Hot Springs, in memory of her sister, Miss Josephine Brown. The income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of music.

The Josephine E. Brown Professorship in Religion was established by her family to endow the teaching of religion in memory of her interest in the Presbyterian Church and in Christian higher education. Income will be used to support a designated professor of religion.

The W. Brown, Jr., Professorship in English was established in 1980 by a gift from the late W. C. Brown of Hot Springs, a former trustee of the College and a member of the Class of 1915. The income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of English.

The Willie Dillard Bryan Professorship in Biology was established in October 1986 with a portion of the bequest from the estates of Rountree C. and Willie D. Bryan of Osceola. Income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of biology.

The William Jefferson Clinton Professorship in International Politics was established by an anonymous gift in 1992. Income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of international politics.

The Martha Heasley Cox Endowed Chair in American Literature was established by Dr. Martha Heasley Cox, '38, of San Francisco, California, with a charitable gift annuity in 2005 and additional funds in a bequest. The income from the annuity fund remainder and bequest will be used to support a distinguished professor of American literature.

The J. William Fulbright Professorship in Modern Languages was established by Henry and Carolyn Nichols of Little Rock in 1992. The income from the endowment is used to support a designated professor of modern languages.

Lyon 2023-24 Catalog

The Frank and Marion Bradley Lyon Professorship in Accounting was established in April 1984 by Mr. and Mrs. Frank Lyon, Sr., of Little Rock. Mr. Lyon was a former Chairman of the Board of Trustees. Income from the endowment will be used to support a designated professor of accounting.

The Paul M. McCain Professorship in History was established in 1980 with grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Frost Foundation of Denver and named in honor of Dr. Paul M. McCain, twelfth President of Lyon College. The income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of history.

The W. Lewis McColgan Professorship in Religion was established by the First Presbyterian Church, Pine Bluff, in April 1979 in honor of the late Dr. W. Lewis McColgan, who served as that church's minister from 1947 to 1974. The income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of religion.

The J. Paul Smith Professorship in Mathematics and the Sciences was established in 1982 with a portion of the bequest from Mr. Smith's estate and as a memorial to his support of the College. Income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of one of these disciplines.

The Anne J. Stewart Professorship in Economics was established in April 1984 by Mrs. Anne J. Stewart of Dallas, Texas, a former trustee of the College. Income from the endowment will be used to support a designated professor of economics.

The John Dyer Trimble, Sr., Professorship in Political Philosophy is in memory of Mr. Trimble, who attended Lyon College. The income from this endowment will be used to support a designated professor of political philosophy.

Lyon 2023-24 Catalog